A small memory.

Me with someone inside a fancy restaurant. (Translated from the original Filipino)

Me: Finish off your meal. A lot of less fortunate people cannot even afford to eat.

Her: Why? If I finish off my meal, will their hunger be satisfied?

Looking back at it from now. I realize what a bitchy, elitist commentary that was. I pass by these people everyday back in the old country and even if not finishing everything off could satiate their hunger, she shouldn’t have said that. In short, it breaks my heart to hear such people say such things. Pity I only saw it from now.

Tell This Portrait

